Confessions June 6, 2017

In a world where social media is now part of our every day lives, it has become so easy to post perfectly filtered pictures of precious moments. Where I am often temped to post the good and wonderful moments, carefully filtering out some very real pain and struggle.

What you see is not necessarily what you get.  Folks assume my life is grand because I choose to post the ‘grander’ moments.

This can also create the deadly trap of comparison.  I can create a life that appears to be all sunshine and rainbows.  It just ain’t so!

Life is hard!  Times get tough.  I struggle with terrible depression, especially thru the cold dark days of winter.  Where even the sky feels heavy and lower than usual.  What I post may not always show that reality.

Also, the internet ie: social media has created what must be a phenomenon of false, brazen courage, where we can hide behind a screen armed with a typewriter and almost no filter.   Where we suddenly believe everyone or perhaps a particular someone needs to hear our opinions.

This can work both ways.  It seems to me it is mostly weighing towards the side of mean-spiritedness.  Where I am right, you are wrong!  ‘This is my strong opinion, whether you want it or not.’

Oh how easy it is to be the wizard behind the curtain, pulling strings and typing things that often leave another wounded or angry.  We are not building others up, instead we are placing them in a position of being wrong instead of simply allowing space for thinking differently.

So many of us have lost tolerance, acceptance and love.  What could be used as a tool to unite us, is now being used to further divide.

There is a nifty acronym I’d seen a few years back, using the word T.H.I.N.K.

Before I speak, or craft brilliant bridge burners via my keyboard,  let me stop and THINK:

think

Stopping and thinking before hitting “post” often allows for emotions to settle.

God made me a natural encourager.  I also have strong opinions.  He has been teaching me how to discern if my opinion was even asked for or if & when I am called to share it.

We are living in times where we as members of the human race are tolerating & encourageing divisiveness. Instead of allowing our beautiful uniqueness to pull us together, we are allowing it to drive us apart.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” Martin Luther King Jr.

Daily I can ask myself “how important is it?”  Does my need to be right over ride what is right? This often looks like humbly remaining silent on things that simply won’t matter in 5 years, a year or even next month?

God knows we need more love today.

I have found that love doesn’t always ‘feel’ like the easy choice, but it is a choice nonetheless.

Like my mom always said ” if you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

