Wednesday May 27, 2015 The Best Part of Waking Up

As a coffee lover, the ad man who came up with “The best part of waking up, is Folgers in your cup” has acquired genius status in my book. Haha!   However, as much as I look forward to my quiet time with God and my coffee, I discovered something even better than Folgers in my cup.  For my cup, the well of my soul, is in need of fresh mercy daily and I am promised a never-ceasing supply every single morning! (Lamentations 3:22-23) An even better part of waking up!

In recent years I became aware of how the enemy lies in wait next to my bed.  Perched close enough to my head so that the second I awaken, he begins the onslaught of lies.  His sweet nothings run the gamut from my self-imposed laundry list of “to do’s” to the “should haves”,  a reminder of the person that hurt me 3, 5 or 20 years ago, evil forebodings ( Proverbs 15:15 in the Amplified Bible says  ‘All the days of the desponding and afflicted are made evil [by anxious thoughts and forebodings], fear of the future, shame of the past, guilt etc.  Whatever our particular buttons are, our enemy stands ready to press ‘Play’  the moment our minds are engaged upon wake up.

God offers us another option.  2 Timothy 1;7 says “For God has not given you a spirit of fear, but of power, of love and of a sound mind” (KJV).  Romans 8:15 “The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”

The renewal of my mind may have started before I became aware. Just as when I received Christ, I didn’t really “feel” differently, but He had begun a good work in me (Phil 1:6).  It was about a year into my very intentional walk with Jesus Christ that I became aware of what was waiting for me when I woke up in the morning. I often didn’t look forward to morning because of this lifelong onslaught.  Was there anything I could do about it?  I mean, my thoughts come and go, is it possible to control them?  To control my mind? The Song of Solomon 2:15 reminds ‘Catch the little foxes that are ruining your vineyard’. Catch them, Fight them, Seize them. To do so we must first recognize them and name them.”

I had heard the teachings of Joyce Meyer on “the Battlefield of the Mind” and I began praying and seeking Gods truth in this.  “Think about what you are thinking about” is something Joyce often says and this resonated with me.  Scripture states in Romans 12:2 “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will” reminding me that action, on my part is necessary.

First, I don’t conform or “buy into” the junk the world is trying to push on me, by purposefully allowing God to transform my mind.  For me this has meant, being intentional in getting into scriptures.  Easily ‘Googling’ scripture verses that speak to me, my current circumstances and what God says about those things. Then, when I wake up in the morning, I speak Gods hope immediately, not allowing the enemy to plant his seeds of despair and hopelessness.

It means becoming intentional in what I feed myself, emotionally, spiritually, physically. What I watch on t.v., movies, what I read, and with what I am surrounding myself with daily. This holds true for my physical body as well.  If I eat a bunch a crap, most likely the next day, I’m going to feel like crap!  I have tested this theory quite extensively and find it to be true. 😦

Now when I wake up, I claim Gods promises: “Good Morning Father God, thank you for this day! thank you for breath, for Your relentless Love in Christ Jesus.  ‘Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love’ Psalm 143:8  ‘I can do all things through Christ Who gives me strength’, Thank you for whatever this day brings, guide me in it.” Speaking gratitude shifts my attitude immediately regardless of my current circumstances. Then I claim my identity, who God says I am. “Daughter, heir, princess, chosen, loved, worthy, forgiven, redeemed, free, His.”

There are seasons when life is unbearably heavy, but there is a promise in scripture for all of our circumstances.  I get into His word, find the scripture that speaks to my situation, good or not so good and when I awaken, I claim Gods Truth by speaking that scripture. Jotting scripture on 3 x 5 cards has been an extremely powerful too also. I place these cards on my car dashboard, the bathroom mirror, cabinets. Wherever I am likely to see them so that they become my truth.

When I speak Gods words of truth and life into my circumstances,  I am speaking Gods power into them.  Surrendering them to Him and speaking against the lies of the enemy. I am taking my thoughts captive (2 Cor.10:5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ). Only with Gods help and His words of truth, can my mind be continually renewed.  Then, I will be the overcomer scripture says that I already am!  Then I can awaken each day to  walk in the Victory that Jesus Christ already won for me!

Who is the one who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? 1 John 5:5

You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world. – 1 John 4:4

 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there isanything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. Phil 4:8

Have a great day and remember Whose you are!

Pam

Leave a Reply

